What to eat, say and think to balance the 7 chakras

The word Chakra derives from the ancient language of Sanskrit, meaning “wheel” or “cycle”. Your body contains seven chakras located along the central meridian of the body. The chakras are considered to be the energy centres or vortexes that govern our physiological and psychological properties and wellbeing.

Each chakra has its own distinct identity, they are associated with a specific group of organs, emotions, corresponding colour, and they are situated at a precise location in the human body.

It’s essential keep the seven chakras balanced as they intern help balance our health, emotions as well as ensure smooth flow of energy throughout the body.

Let’s have a look at 7 chakras and how to balance them:

1.The Root Chakra (Muladhara Chakra)

Location: The root chakra is located in the tailbone area at the base of the spine.

Purpose: It is the first chakra and it is responsible for the foundation, security, survival, and sense of safety of a person.

Colour: Red

Signs of Balance: A balanced root chakra gives a sense of security and safety. We develop a sense of connection and a feeling of being grounded.

Signs of Imbalance: An imbalance in the root chakra may cause issues such as eating disorders, constipation, degenerative arthritis and knee pains. People suffering from an imbalanced root chakra may face problems with a compromised immune system, prostate glands, rectum, legs and tailbone.

Nutritional Healing: Foods that help balance the root chakra include red colour apples and beetroots, red cayenne peppers, root vegetables like carrots and potatoes. Eggs and red meat too help in balancing the root chakra.

Beneficial Practices: The root chakra is all about feeling grounded. This chakra can be balanced by walking barefoot on grass and soil. Yoga poses such as the bridge pose and kundalini yoga will balance the root chakra.

Balancing Affirmation: To help balance root chakra, repeat the following affirmation, “I am safe. I am healthy. I am balanced. I am grounded.”

2. Sacral Chakra (Swadhisthana Chakra)

Location: The Sacral Chakra is located just below the navel in the lower abdomen area.

Purpose: The sacral chakra helps experiencing life through sensations and feelings. It is the centre of sensuality, feeling, intimacy, emotion, and connection.

Colour: Orange

Signs of Balance: A balanced sacral chakra will give a sense of abundance and well-being. Sacral chakra promotes healthy relationships and a greater feeling of joy and pleasure.

Signs of Imbalance: An imbalanced sacral chakra will cause hormonal imbalance, addictions, fertility issues, overemphasis on sexuality, and you might tend to fight the natural aging process.

Nutritional Healing: To balance sacral chakra consume more of foods rich water, vitamin A, B, and C. Oranges, nuts, tangerines, ginger, turmeric, and peppers are beneficial for balancing the sacral chakra.

Beneficial Practices: Exercises such as cobra yoga pose and pelvic thrusts can help balance sacral chakra. Swimming and walking will be very beneficial. Try to develop a feeling a self-affirmation to balance sacral chakra.

Balancing Affirmation: To help balance sacral chakra, repeat this affirmation, “I am healthy. I am passionate. I create. I am abundant.”

3. Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura Chakra)